Home | About VANK | Contact us | Notice | Site map | Downloads Vank Video | Friendly Korea | Paths to Peace | Join us |
Bookmark and Share Tell a Friend

제 한국 친구는 춘천에 산다고 해요. 한국에는 또 어떤 지역이 있어요?  
My Korean friend said he lives in Gnagwon-do. What makes Korea geographically?

강원도의‘도’는 미국의‘state’나 영국의‘country’, 캐나다의‘province’와 비슷한 한국의 행정지역 명칭이에요. 한국의 남한에는 서울이 있는 경기도, 충청도, 경상도, 강원도, 전라도, 제주도가 있고, 북한에는 평양이 있는 평안도, 황해도, 강원도, 양강도, 자강도, 함경도가 있어요. 그리고 남한에는 서울 외에도 부산, 광주, 대전, 인천, 대구, 울산처럼 광역 도시가 있어요. 한국은 반도 국가이기 때문에 섬이 아주 많이 있는데 울릉도, 독도와 진도 등은 작지만 아주 유명한 섬이에요. 

First of all -do is Korean for a type of regional government. It is like state in the U.S., 'country' in the UK and 'province' in Canada. South Korea consists of Gyeonggi-do in which Seoul is located, Chungcheong-do, Gyeongsang-do, Gangwon-do, Jeolla-do and Jeju-do, and Norht Korea is composed of Pyeongan-do in which Pyeongyang is located Hwanghae-do, Gangwon-do, Yanggang-do, Jagang-do, and Hamgyeong-do.
Also, in South Korea, besides Seoul, there are many metropolitan cities such as Busan, Gwangju, Daejeon, Incheon, Daegu and Ulsan. Since it is a peninsula Korea is surrounded ocean on three sides and there are many islands including Ulleungdo, Dokdo, and Jindo that are small yet famous.

 Related word
서울 Seoul 강원도(남) Gangwon-do(province)(south) 경기도 Gyeonggi-do(province)
경상도 Gyeongsang-do(province) 전라도 Jeolla-do(province) 제주도 Jeju-do(province)
충청도 Chungcheong-do(province) Pyeongyang 강원도(북) Gangwondo(province)(north)
Yanggang-do(province) 자강도Jagang-do(province) 평안도 Pyeongan-do(province)
함경도 Hamgyeong-do(province) 황해도 Hwanghae-do (province) 독도 Dokdo(island)
Ulleungdo(island) 수도 capital island